Another string to my bow…

It was one of those occasions when I am working on a client’s order and thinking to myself “there’s a faster way to do this.. but I can’t think what it is and I don’t have time to think what it is right now!”

Image

So, I painstakingly gathered together my white, black, blue, red and yellow sugarpaste and rustled through all the cupboards to find the right size cutters before patiently cutting out 20 circles of each and thanking goodness for my steady hands when placing one ring on top of the other!

I didn’t have time to make sugarpaste arrows so I improvised, luckily finding some coloured sandwich/canape flags I had tucked away..

Image

I simply rolled the paper part around the toothpick until it showed a little coloured end (well, artistic interpretation is everything is it not?) 😉

Image

I then took my vanilla cupcakes (my go to recipe is printed below) and using my grass icing tip (Jem 233) I piped grass on each cupcake. The small tip tends to be a bit thin so I am going to get myself one of the large grass tip nozzles soon and get some proper grass action going on!

Image

After leaving the targets to harden up a bit, I placed on top of the icing and voila! some delicious vanilla cupcakes with archery themed decorations for a birthday boy!

Image

For those looking for a go-to vanilla cupcake recipe, feel free to use mine, it’s one of my best sellers with customers…

80g unsalted butter

270g caster sugar (sometimes I use the golden caster sugar to add a more treacley taste)

240g plain flour

3 tsp baking powder

2 eggs

240 ml room temperature milk

1 tsp good vanilla extract

Method

Cream the butter and sugar till light and fluffy.

Add the eggs one at a time, beating well after each addition.

When you have a nice fluffy mix, add a third of the flour (and baking powder) mix, then a third of the milk, then a third of flour etc till all mixed in. (Don’t over mix otherwise you will get a heavy sponge). Add in the vanilla extract.

Place in cupcake cases in the oven (around 160 fan) and bake for around 20 mins (this really does depend on your oven I have found).

You should have 12 lovely, golden, well risen cupcakes to enjoy 🙂

If you want a deliciously creamy buttercream frosting, then I use:

500g icing sugar

110g unsalted butter

Around 50-60ml of milk (or I found to my delight, water results in just the same great texture and flavour)

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

Method

Mix altogether until light and soft and creamy then dollop on your cupcake if you’re in a hurry (or carefully pipe if you want a more elegant finish…here I added a touch of pink to give a rosy blush to my raspberry and almond cupcakes)…

Image

Leave a Reply

