The deconstructed cupcake!

Oh dear, I can’t believe April was my last post, what a terrible blogger I have turned out to be!  It’s not even as if i can revert to childhood excuses like “the dog ate my blog” a) I don’t have a dog more’s the pity and b) technology has moved on since I was at school although I suppose a dog could chew a computer or tablet in theory…

Anyway, life has led me along it’s twists and turns and I’m afraid my blog has suffered but I’m back, still baking, still growing my business and excited about new products that I am introducing or have in the pipeline, such as my cupcakes in a jar or deconstructed cupcakes as I prefer to call them! Now, I know these aren’t a new idea but they are new to me and to my customers who loved them when I added them to my table of baked goodies at my regular pitch at Walton Farmers Market last weekend.

Image

walton market 4

Not only do they look cute ( I tried to get small wooden spoons as I felt they would add a more rustic look than the multi- coloured plastic ice cream spoons but nigh on impossible it seems in the UK.  Boy, do I need that buying trip to the USA though I hate to think of the excess baggage allowance on the way back :-0 ) BUT they also stay fresher longer and are much easier to transport.  As my plans for world domination have been a tad stymied by the impossibility of sending cupcakes through the post (unless the customer’s preference is for smooshed icing and crumbs), this might just be the opportunity to take Jen’s Cupcakery global (or to the other end of the UK at least!)

Anyway, one of my Twitter followers (@jenscupcakery for anybody that wants to know)  asked for the recipe for my “Luscious Lemon” cupcake in a jar so here it is… of course you could double this recipe and make a sheet cake and then just use a small dessert ring to cut out circles depending on the size of your jar.  The jars I am using are 190 ml (8.1cm x 6.6cm).

jars

Lemon sponge (makes about 12-14 cupcakes)

  • 80g unsalted butter
  • 270g caster sugar (sometimes I use golden caster sugar to add an extra oomph!)
  • 2 eggs
  • 240g plain flour
  • 3 tsps baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp good vanilla extract
  • 2 lemons grated (you can use more or less depending on how lemon-ey you like them)
  • 240ml milk (I tend to use semi-skimmed as a token effort to make them slightly more healthy!)

1) Cream the butter and sugar till soft and pale.

2) Add one egg and beat till mixed in and then add the other till batter is light and creamy.

3) Add flour and milk concurrently until the batter is smooth (but don’t mix too long otherwise it makes the batter heavy).

4) Add grated lemon rind to your taste (I tend to use the rind of two lemons).

5) Dollop into individual cupcake cases (this is where wastage comes in if you are using the cupcakes in a jar so you could make sheet cake or use silicone cupcake moulds).

6) Put in an oven at around 350 degrees f/170 degrees c for around 20 mins depending on your oven. You can use a cake tester or skewer to check if the cake is cooked sufficiently.

Lemon Buttercream

Image

  • 110g unsalted butter
  • 500g icing sugar sieved
  • 2 tablespoons lemon juice
  • 2/3 tsps of grated lemon

Mix all the ingredients together till smooth and creamy – as simple as that! 🙂

Lemon Curd

Image

Now, if you’re short on time you can simply use a tablespoon of shop bought lemon curd but if you want to make your own, here’s a recipe I use (thanks to BBC Food Recipes).

  • 4 unwaxed lemons zest and juice
  • 200g unrefined caster sugar
  • 100g unsalted butter, cut into cubes
  • 3 free-range eggs, plus 1 free-range egg yolk
  1. Put the lemon zest and juice, the sugar and the butter into a heatproof bowl. Sit the bowl over a pan of gently simmering water, making sure the water is not touching the bottom of the bowl. Stir the mixture every now and again until all of the butter has melted.
  2. Lightly whisk the eggs and egg yolk and stir them into the lemon mixture. Whisk until all of the ingredients are well combined, then leave to cook for 10-13 minutes, stirring every now and again, until the mixture is creamy and thick enough to coat the back of a spoon.
  3. Remove the lemon curd from the heat and set aside to cool, stirring occasionally as it cools. Once cooled, spoon the lemon curd into sterilised jars and seal. Keep in the fridge until ready to use.

Then comes the fun part! Simply cut your cupcake in half, squidge (carefully) one half into the bottom of the jar (I cleaned and sterilised mine before use), then add a layer of the cooled or shop bought lemon curd, then a dollop of the lovely tangy lemon buttercream, followed by the other half of the cake, more lemon curd and one more layer of buttercream. I finished mine with some crystallized lemon.. and there you have it… luscious lemon cupcake in a jar.  Enjoy!

Image

open lemon

Leave a Reply

