In which I make a cake for a Michelin starred chef :-0

jc novelli cake refinedSo there I was baking some  malteser cupcakes (thanks to Sam Loves Cake for the yummy  idea)  when I got an email from Love PR who I made the boobalicious cupcakes for, saying “how would you like to make a birthday cake for one of our clients?”

Well, of course I said yes… and then they said, it’s for a chef… a Michelin starred chef.. a French celebrity Michelin starred chef..Jean Christophe Novelli!  and the goosebumps came.

jean christophe

Now, I am quite confident in my ability as a baker (a prerequisite when you have a cake business!) but making a cake for a Michelin starred chef who actually started his career in a bakery has to be a little daunting doesn’t it?

As I only had two days to make it in an already busy schedule, I decided to go with the decadent double chocolate bundt cake with which I had reached the final of the “Great Chocolate Cake Off” last year in London. I did, however, add a new ingredient, Kirsch soaked black cherries… yum!

IMG_0791

I decorated with a dark chocolate ganache, hand made white chocolate roses, a dusting of  edible gold glitter and twisty candles and put in a white box with big red roses atop (well, men can receive flowers too can’t they?) 🙂 and then duly delivered it to his Academy about 40 miles away.

jc sign

IMG_0786

Sorry to say he wasn’t there when I arrived but I heard back from the agency that he loved it which was music to my ears!

Wonder who I will be baking for next… 🙂

Leave a Reply

