The giant dilemma…

Ok, so for those of you who have mastered the art of giant cupcakes and for whom this post may be a little like “teaching your granny to suck eggs” or rather “bake giant cupcakes”, feel free to look away 🙂

Giant banana and rum cupcake

For those of you who, like my good self, have had their giant cupcake ups (and downs), then this may just be of interest.

What I have learned:

  • No matter how level you make the cupcake batter in the cupcake mould before baking,it can bubble up like a chemistry experiment gone awry and come out of the oven needing serious surgery. Slicing it can then lead to a serious case of collapse.
  • The answer? For the first, don’t overfill and for the second, I find if you put the cake in the fridge to chill a good half hour or so, then it is far easier to do cosmetic work. You can even it up whilst it is in the mould but I find it’s firmer when out of the mould and has been in the fridge awhile.
  • If you make a lovely soft sponge (such as luscious lemon cake), and ice it, over night it can transform from a work of art to a crumpled heap (I made allusions to this in an earlier post…) Let’s just say, that particular day, which also happened to be a Farmer’s Market day, had me rushing home from the market and baking and decorating a replacement set of christening cakes in an hour, getting to the function just in time.

This is what the cake looked like the night before.. (the image has squashed a little in transfer!) I did have an after pic (recorded for posterity) but I can’t locate it right now… let’s just say it looked like a tornado had hit it.

Giant christening cupcake sitting pretty…

Here were the replacement cakes (which the client thankfully loved!)

I realised that the sponge had just been too soft for the weight of the icing and the super sized booties perched on top. Which leads me to the last point.

  • Stronger, firmer textured cakes such as madeira, chocolate fudge, fruit, carrot or… the banana and rum I made last weekend  work best.  Not only do they bake better but they turn out of the mould better too.  Or at least the one this weekend behaved itself. Who knows why. Perhaps the firmness of the cake foundation, perhaps the cake gods were smiling down on me or perhaps it was just a good day for baking 🙂  All I know is it came out of the oven perfectly risen and didn’t crack or topple.

And speaking of other giant cupcake successes (after all, I don’t want you to think they always flop!), here’s some I prepared earlier…

Chocolate butterfly giant cupcake

Royal wedding giant cupcake

Giant Gerbera birthday cupcake

If anyone has any of their own tips for creating the perfect giant cupcake then do please share…

6 thoughts on “The giant dilemma…

    • ilovejenscupcakery says:

      Hi there Alice, thanks for stopping by my blog and for your lovely comments! Can’t wait to start trying out some of your delicious looking recipes on my partner who thinks I am just the sous chef in the house! 🙂

Leave a Reply

