Yo ho ho and a bottle of rum…

As is always the way, no sooner was I getting my head around the boat cake order than another last minute one sprang up to add to the rather stressful weekend ahead (not that I’m complaining though of course as orders are most definitely GOOD!).

It’s always particularly great to get repeat custom – particularly when the client says “it was the best cake they had EVER tasted!”.  This from a couple whose Mad Hatter themed wedding cake and cupcakes I created two years ago.

Mad Hatter giant wedding cupcake

I made a  banana and (lots of) rum giant cupcake decorated Mad Hatter stylee as the centre piece with an assortment of mad hatter themed cupcakes for each table.  This was a big deal for me as I hadn’t been in business that long and had certainly never made anything like it before!  The hat was made out of black fondant and, to keep its shape, wrapped around a rather unglamorous item.. inside of a toilet roll 🙂 It did the trick though. It took a while but I was pleased with the result and so, most importantly, were the bride and groom. The red bow I made from red sugarpaste and, the little red speck you can see under the white hat ticket, is in fact, a really cute little sugar ladybird. The clock was made out of white fondant with the backward clock details written on with edible pen.

Mad Hatter cupcakes

This time, to celebrate the arrival of their bundle of joy, I am making another banana and rum giant cupcake (told you they liked it) but this time in a rather more subtle style.. silvers and whites and butterflies.

I’ll post the recipe, trying to remember to take pics as I go along (a failing of mine) but it got me thinking about giant cupcake disasters. More on that in another post… hopefully not adding this one to the list! :-0

2 thoughts on “Yo ho ho and a bottle of rum…

  1. Weesis says:

    Hello Jen, I followed your blog a wee while ago and have been enjoying reading your posts : ) I thought I would let you know that I have nominated you for an award called the Liebster Award which lets newer bloggers recognise each other and find new blogs to read. You can see where I’ve nominated you and how to take part on my blog (http://samlovescake.wordpress.com/).

    P.S I would have loved to have tried a bit of that banana and rum cake – it sounds amazing!

    • ilovejenscupcakery says:

      Hi Eve

      Wow! thanks so much, that’s so kind of you, very exciting! I haven’t been blogging for that long and there’s so many great ones around. I will take a look at how to take part as suggested. Thanks again…

      Best
      Jen

Leave a Reply

