Queen of carrot cakes…

Oh how I have missed baking over the last couple of weeks but I’m happy to say I managed to complete a couple of small orders today for private customers, both last minute but both gratefully received! Happily my back helped out by allowing me to bake and ice without any screams of dissatisfaction. Perhaps my slipped disc has miraculously healed? It got me thinking… as models take out huge insurances to protect the tools of their trade ie their flowing locks, perfectly manicured bodies, perhaps I should have done the same for mine… my back and my hands that is 🙂

I also got an enquiry for a September wedding afternoon tea from an ex market colleague and am thus happily compiling ideas for the bride and bridegroom to be. The ‘do’ will have an eclectic vintage feel so I am thinking cornflower blues, pale yellows and pretty pinks, with perhaps tiny little flowers and fresh flowers for the cutting cake. Happily, the clients are interested in this being a carrot cake as I must (immodestly I suppose admit) that this is one of my best cakes (or so my customers tell me anyway).

Carrot cake on display at our regular Farmers Market

The addition of pineapple adds the more-ish moistness to this superbly succulent cake. Thanks to Olive magazine by way of BBC Good Food website for the recipe.
• 300g plain flour
• 2tsp cinnamon
• 1 tsp baking powder
• ½ tsp bicarb of soda
• 200 g soft brown sugar
• 4 eggs
• 250ml oil
• 1 orange and 1 lemon zested
• 200g carrots finely grated
• 150g walnuts, chopped
• 227g tin of chopped pineapple (well drained).

Heat the oven to about 150◦c/fan 130◦c/gas 2. Line a 20 cm cake tin, 10cm deep if you want a deliciously deep cake to serve about 12. Or you can use smaller tin and the leftover mix can be made into delicious carrot cupcakes…yum!

Beautiful carrot cakes…. and moi!

Sift the flour, cinnamon, baking powder, bicarb of soda together and stir in the sugar. Beat the eggs with the oil and citrus zests and then stir in the carrots and fold the whole lot into the flour mixture. Fold in the walnuts and pineapple. Spoon mixture into tin and bake for anything between 40-80 minutes depending on size of tin you use. Foolproof method, after at least 30 mins, take out tin, if it still as lots of wobble and a skewer inserted comes out soggy, then you know more time is needed.

I find myself adjusting cake recipe baking times from original recipes all the time and I guess that’s down to different ovens so I always think it’s a case of learning what your oven does in what time. But hey, that’s just me!

Personally, I think you can’t beat a good cream cheese frosting on top of carrot cake, subtly flavoured with orange zest… more about my quest for the perfect cream cheese topping in next post!

A big slice of heaven…

2 thoughts on “Queen of carrot cakes…

Leave a Reply

