Happy New Year!

Rather belated I know but I have to admit I have found it a little hard to get back into the swing of things since the Xmas break!  Anyway, the end of last year found me diversifying from the world of cupcakes and moving into bigger and – well I won’t say better, just different – speciality cakes.  From creating a curvalicious ‘adult’cake to a mermaid and pirates cake for a younger clientele, it was fun making cakes on a larger scale.

The cake above was a chocolate sponge which I covered with white regalice and then another layer of pale blue which I cut to recreate a slightly wavy sea. I made the mermaid out of regalice and sugar paste and having no special tool to recreate the markings on the mermaid tail, I improvised, using the side of one of my many icing nozzles.  The hair was made out of red liquorice and I simply added facial features with royal icing tinted accordingly. I then added a few sugarpaste shells, dophins and fish made for me by the best hand made decorations supplier I’ve found, Emma at cupcake*toppers on Ebay. 

The pirate faces were great fun to make but they look far too cute to be real pirates!  I covered chocolate cupcakes with flesh tinted regalice and then the eye patch is made out of liqorice, eyes iced with royal icing and the head scarf made out of pale blue regalice. 

Leave a Reply

